Anger

This quote has been stuck in my head recently:

Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one getting burned.
~Buddha

I really believe this and you can see it all the time. Especially in war where anger causes so much death and destruction, but you can also see it at home. When you’re mad at a friend and you spend all day with that anger in you, that is not a joyful day. The question is how to get past the anger, right?

I think this becomes tremendously difficult when the person (or persons) you’re angry with is not remorseful and won’t change.

Is forgiveness essential for letting go of anger? Or can you let go of your anger, accept, and move on?

Is retaliation ever okay? And if so, when?

Is retaliation different from punishment? Are these things different from consequences – all actions have them, right? Some good, some bad…

Okay, that’s all I have. Just questions and no answers! Haha, pretty par for the course!

May your day be filled with loving kindness, Namaste!

3 thoughts on “Anger

Add yours

  1. I have a tendency to walk away from those who make me angry. Over time, I often forget the specific action, but never forget the feeling of having been wronged. Instead of being consumed with anger and thoughts of retaliation or struggling with the decision to forgive, I instead feel remorse. Those who have angered me do sometimes find their way back into my life, but it isn’t without first meeting a cold and quiet countenance. I don’t let people in easily, anyway – so if they were close enough to truly cause me anger, chances are they understand me well enough to find their way back in again … or they’ll know better, and walk away, as well.

    1. I rarely get really angry… Annoyed, grumpy, etc. but not angry. I’m more likely to feel hurt. When I am angry I tend to let go of it pretty quickly.
      I’m pretty good at moving forward after a hurt, but I never forget… Not sure if that’s good or bad, but it is true of me… Is not forgetting like holding onto a hot coal?
      Me –> endlessly curious

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

