Surrounded by Open Hearts

I rocked my surgery… Okay really my doctor did – yay for him!

Being in the hospital is hard, and surgery is no fun, BUT

Well, I’m just reminded of how many wonderful people are in my life. So many well wishes, and offers of help…
I’m soaking up the well wishes; food for my spirit.
I’m accepting help; more food for my spirit. Plus we’ll need it, and I know that it makes the giver happy.

Almost all of my nurses have been kind and caring, and my doctor has been the same.

And that one horrible nurse? She just shines a light on all of the warmth from everyone else. (And perhaps she was just having a really bad day.)

I managed my first walk down the hallway like a champ. It felt goofy, but I also felt strong. Those miles of running are a gift that keeps giving.

And maybe it’s the pain meds, but my one overwhelming and reoccurring thought is how thankful I am for all the wonderful people surrounding me.

When you begin to touch your heart or let your heart be touched, you begin to discover that it’s bottomless, that it doesn’t have any resolution, that this heart is huge, vast, and limitless. You begin to discover how much warmth and gentleness is there, as well as how much space. ~ Pema Chodron

I am the lucky one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

