Gone Girl: A Novel by Gillian Flynn

When I finished this book (over a month ago), I realized it was the first fiction book I had read in months, and I hadn’t yet challenged myself to write a review of a fiction book. I was stuck for what to say, which was only compounded by the fact that this is a mystery novel. There is little that can be said without spoiling the twists and turns, but what I can say, and will say, is that it was a thoroughly enjoyable read.

The is the story of Nick and his wife, Amy, and what happens when Amy goes missing. The story is told both through Nick’s point of view and diary entries written by Amy. The unique viewpoints, and mode of storytelling, help this book stand out from the usual mystery. Gillian Flynn also does an excellent job of developing each character in the book, finding that delicate balance between not enough development of important characters and too much development of characters that are secondary.

I was both frustrated and simultaneously impressed with Flynn for ending the book the way she did. I could see her sitting at her computer chuckling as she wrapped up the book (I don’t know Flynn, and maybe she doesn’t chuckle, but that’s what I would have done!).

Overall, the book is well written, and Flynn has a fluid, engaging, writing style. I marked a couple of great lines that demonstrate how the eeriness of the story is demonstrated not just by the entirity of the book, but also by the simple phrases. It’s hard to choose, but I will go with the one below:

People say children from broken homes have it hard, but the children of charmed marriages have their own particular challenges.

How disturbing… and probably true… or not, but my point is, really – you should read this book. It’s the perfect rainy weather, plane trip, vacation, day by the pool, kind of book. I will definitely be checking out her two other novels.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

